Armenia will join millions in the world to observe the Earth Hour

For the eighth time in a row Armenia will observe the Earth Hour on Saturday, March 19. Capital Yerevan, the cities of Abovyan, Armavir, Artashat, Dilijan, Echmiadzin, Gavar, Goris, Hrazdan and Vanadzor, will join the worldwide grassroots movement uniting people to protect the planet organized by World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF).

Millions of people across the globe will turn off their lights for 60 minutes on Saturday night starting at 8:30pm local time in a symbolic show of support for “Earth Hour” campaign against climate change. The major monuments will also go dark for an hour.

The event first took place in 2007, when 2.2 million residents of Sydney participated by turning off all non-essential lights. Following Sydney’s lead, many other cities around the world adopted the event in 2008.

Many of the world’s most iconic attractions, including Sydney Opera House, the Empire State Building and the Eiffel Tower will take part.

Last year more than 150 countries participated in the event which saw some of the world’s most iconic landmarks dim, and this year the movement has spread to Palestine, Tunisia, Suriname and Rwanda.


Show More
Back to top button