Armenian FM meets Minsk Group Co-Chairs

On February 5 Armenian Foreign Minister Edward Nalbandian received the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs- Igor Popov, Jacques Faure and James Warlick as well as Andrzej Kasprzyk, the Personal Representative of the OSCE Chairman-in-Office,.

Edward Nalbandian and the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs discussed possible ways of advancing the Nagorno-Karabakh peace process.

The Co-Chairs presented their impressions from their meetings in Baku to the Foreign Minister.

Minister Nalbandian stressed the necessity of preventing the continuous provocations of the Azerbaijani side and noted that Armenia fully shares the Co-Chairs’ approach that the incidents taking place on the border with Armenia and on the line of contact with Nagorno-Karabakh undermine the negotiation process, decrease the possibilities for achieving peace. In that context Minister Nalbandian underlined that in line with the Co-Chairs, Armenia considers that it is necessary to fully implement the tri-partite agreements from May, 1994 on the establishment of ceasfire and from February, 1995 on the consolidation of ceasefire, and carry out the initiatives of the withdrawal of snipers from the line of contact, of the creation of a mechanism for investigation of incidents.

Show More
Back to top button