Eighth Hrant Dink Award to be presented on September 22

The 8th International Hrant Dink Award will take place in Lütfi Kırdar International Convention and Exhibition Center on Thursday, September 22, 2016 between 20.00-22.00.

The award that the Hrant Dink Foundation holds every year on Hrant Dink’s birthday September 15 will be presented this year one week later due to the feast of sacrifice. Every year, the award is presented to two people, groups or institutions from inside and outside Turkey, who work for a world free of discrimination, racism, and violence, take personal risks for their ideals, use the language of peace, and by doing so, inspire and encourage others. With this award, the Foundation aims to remind to all those who struggle for these ideals that their voices are heard, their work is visible and that they are not alone, and also to encourage everyone to fight for their ideals.

The award jury for this year is composed of, 2015 International Hrant Dink Award laureate human rights activist Samar Badawi, 2015 International Hrant Dink Award laureate LGBT activist KAOS GL, director, scenarist and producer Atom Egoyan, philosopher Étienne Balibar, Reporters Without Borders General Director Christophe Deloire, philosopher Michel Marian, poet, writer and literature critic Murathan Mungan, feminist author and human rights activist Şirin Tekeli and the President of Hrant Dink Foundation Rakel Dink.

The laureates of the Hrant Dink Award in the past years are human rights activist Samar Badawi (2015), Kaos GL (2015), forensic expert and human rights activist Şebnem Korur Fincancı (2014) and activist Angie Zelter (2014),  human rights activist Nataša Kandić (2013), Saturday Mothers / People (2013), writer İsmail Beşikçi (2012) and International “Memorial” Society Russia (2012), journalist and writer Ahmet Altan (2011) and journalist and human rights activist Lydia Cacho (2011), the Conscientious Objection Movement of Turkey (2010) and lawyer Baltasar Garzón (2010), journalist and author Alper Görmüş (2009) and journalists and writer Amira Haas (2009).

Show More
Back to top button