Catamarca province of Argentina recognizes the Armenian Genocide

The province of Catamarca, Argentina, joined the National Law 26,199 declaring April 24 every year as the “Day of Action for Tolerance and Respect between Peoples” in commemoration of the Armenian Genocide, Agencia Prensa Armenia reports.

“The breakthrough that led to the Law 26,199 was again ratified in Catamarca and demonstrates the national and federal perspective acquired in Argentina in the struggle against denial,” said Nicolas Sabuncuyan, director of the Armenian National Committee of Buenos Aires.

Article 4 of Law 26,199, enacted on December 13 2006 and promulgated on 15 January 2007, invites provincial governments to “adhere to the provisions” something that was already done by 17 Argentine provinces along with the City of Buenos Aires.

The provinces that have already joined the National Law include Buenos Aires, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Córdoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Jujuy, La Pampa, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen, Rio Black, Salta, San Juan, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero and Tierra del Fuego.

Show More
Back to top button