Belarus’ House of Representatives ratifies treaty on Armenia’s accession to EEU

The House of Representatives of the Belarusian National Assembly ratified the Treaty on the Accession of Armenia to the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU), BelTA reports.

The treaty was signed in Minsk by the Presidents of Belarus, Russia, Kazakhstan and Armenia on 10 October 2014. The three countries agreed to a transition period for Armenia during which the Armenian goods will be subject to certain import duties. Their rates will differ from the common customs tariff in the EEU.

“Today is a historic day. Once again we have reiterated our position, our vector of development. After the ratification we are becoming a member of the EEU and this opens up great opportunities,” Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Armenia to Belarus Armen Khachatryan told Belarusian reporters.

He explained that Armenia can supply the EEU partners with high-technology services, and also with vegetables and fruits. We have the best cognac. We have the best mineral waters. We have a lot of things to offer, added the Ambassador. As regards the ways of delivery, the goods will go through Georgia.

“I sincerely salute all Belarusians. I wish happiness and joy to the most beautiful people, the kindest nation as all Armenians say,” the diplomat said.

For his part, Belarus’ First Deputy Foreign Minister Alexander Mikhnevich informed that Russia has completed the process of ratification of the Treaty of Armenia’s Accession to the EEU, and Kazakhstan is completing this process.

The House of Representatives also ratified the Treaty to terminate the Eurasian Economic Community (EurAsEC).

Show More
Back to top button