EU Mission planning to open three additional operational hubs in Armenia

The EU Mission in Armenia plans to open the three additional operational hubs in Jermuk, Ijevan and Yeghegnadzor in the upcoming months, gradually reaching full operational capability in near future.

On 1 June, EUMA Head of Mission Markus Ritter together with the Ambassador Andrea Wiktorin, Head of EU Delegation in Armenia, welcomed an EU delegation from COEST Working group in Martuni. Mr Ritter introduced them to the mission’s mandate and its activities. He also updated the participants on security developments on the ground, based on observations gathered from the mission’s patrols.

In the first three months of EUMA’s existence, the mission conducted more than 300 patrols in total from its hubs in Goris, Jermuk and Martuni. Every week, the patrols cover more than 3800 km of distance. “The mission was launched in an unprecedented speed, starting its operations this February,” Mr Ritter said.

“Our goal is – among others – to contribute to stabilizing the security in border areas. And according to numerous Armenian officials, EUMA has contributed to a certain stabilization of the situation. However, the situation remains volatile,” Mr Ritter added.

EUMA is a non-armed, civilian and non-executive mission with the aim to observe and report to the EU on the security situation on the ground. The mission is deployed on the Armenian side of the Armenia-Azerbaijan border, with Headquarters in Yeghegnadzor, six Forward Operating Bases and a small liaison office in Yerevan.

Show More
Back to top button