Artsakh Parliament votes to grant official status to the Russian language

Artsakh’s National Assembly voted 27 to 0 with 2 abstentions today to approve amendments to the Law on language.

The changes will see the Russian language granted an official status in the Republic.

Armenian will still remain the only state language.

The bill was drafted by Vice-President of the National Assembly Gagik Baghunts, MPs Aram Harutyunyaan and Metakse Hakobyan.

Co-authors of the bill say the necessity is based on “the historical memory of the cultural, military and economic relations between Artsakh and Russia and the fact that Russian is the second language of communication for many residents of Artsakh.”

The lawmakers say the proposed changes will create necessary conditions for deepening cooperation in all spheres, and in the foreseeable future will contribute to the development of relations within the legal framework.

“The need for a long-term presence of Russian peacekeepers in Artsakh, the joint solution of many social and communication problems, cooperation in the fields of construction, health, education and science requires a reassessment of the role of the Russian language,” the authors say.

Show More
Back to top button