Armenia issues coin marking five years of Eurasian Economic Union

The Central Bank of Armenia has issued a collector coin to mark five years of the Eurasian Economic Union.

The Treaty on the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) came into force on January 1, 2015. The EAEU comprises Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia.

This jubilee year of 2019 marks the 5th anniversary of signing the EAEU Treaty and the 25th anniversary of envisioning the idea of Eurasian integration. 

In October 2019, Armenia will host the regular meeting of the Eurasian Supreme Economic Council.

The obverse of the coin depicts the coat of arms of the Republic of Armenia and the images of sails and stars corresponding to quantity of the EAEU member-states.

On the reverse are the EAEU logotype and stylized images of the EAEU member-states’ flags.

Collector coins are made of precious metals and are issued to present to the society the national, international, historical and cultural, spiritual and other values of the country, to immortalize these values in the metal and to meet the demands of the numismatic market.

Like any other currency the collector coins have face value which makes them the means of payment. However, the face value of these coins is much lower that their cost price which includes the cost of the precious metal used for manufacturing of the coin, mintage and other expenses. Low face value and high cost price allow these coins to be considered as the items of collection and not the means of payment used in money circulation. The collector coins have also the sale price set by the Central Bank of Armenia.

As the items of collection the collector coins are issued in very restricted quantities and are not reissued.

Show More
Back to top button