Armenia joins 127 nations to reject Trump’s recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital

Armenia joined 127 countries on Thursday to vote in favor of a resolution rejecting US President Donald Trump’s recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital.

The UN General Assembly  decisively backed a resolution effectively calling on the US to withdraw its recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

The text says that any decisions regarding the status of the city are “null and void” and must be cancelled.

The non-binding resolution was approved by 128 states, with 35 abstaining and nine others voting against.

It came after US President Donald Trump threatened to cut financial aid to those who backed the resolution.

The nine who voted against the resolution were the US, Israel, Guatemala, Honduras, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and Togo.

Among the 35 abstaining were Canada and Mexico

Those voting in favour included the other four permanent members of the UN Security Council (China, France, Russia and the UK) as well as key US allies in the Muslim world

There were 21 countries who did not turn up for the vote.


Show More
Back to top button