Senator Ed Markey to Receive 2017 ANCA-ER Freedom Award

The Armenian National Committee of America Eastern Region (ANCA-ER) will be honoring United States Senator Hon. Edward J. Markey (D-MA) with its highest honor, the prestigious Freedom Award, at the December 2nd Gala dedicated to the 30th anniversary of Artsakh Liberation Movement.

“We are happy to be able to recognize Senator Markey’s longstanding, staunch support for Armenian-American policy priorities with the ANCA Eastern Region’s Freedom Award,” said ANCA Eastern Region Chairperson Steve Mesrobian. “We look forward to celebrating 2017 as a great year for civic advocacy as well as honoring the individuals who have stood by our side for many years.”

Each year, the ANCA Eastern Region presents its prestigious Freedom Award to an individual who has made extraordinary contributions towards issues that concern Armenian-Americans. Previous ANCA-ER Freedom Award recipients include: U.S. Ambassador to Armenia John M. Evans; Pulitzer Prize winner author and former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations, Samantha Power; U.S. Senator Robert Menendez; the late U.S. Senator Edward Kennedy; U.S. Senators Robert Dole and Elizabeth Dole; Baroness Caroline Cox; renowned lawyer Robert Morgenthau and the Morgenthau family; Former House Majority Whip David Bonior; lawyer, writer, and human rights activist Fethiye Çetin; President of Artsakh Republic Bako Sahakyan; U.S. Senator Mark Kirk; and U.S. Senator Christopher Van Hollen, Jr.

Show More
Back to top button