Ara Babloyan to be named National Assembly Chairman

Ara Babloyan will be the Chairman of the National Assembly.

“President Serzh Sargsyan offered the candidacy of former Health Minister Ara Babloyan, and the proposal was accepted unanimously,”Republican Party’s Press Secretary Edward Sharmazanov told reporters following the sittings of the RPA Executive Body and Board.

Former Minister of Justice Arpine Hovhannisyan and Edward Sharmazanov will be the two Vice-Speakers. Vahram Baghdasaryan will head the Republican faction, while Gagik Melikyan will be the Secretary.

During the first sitting of the Parliament Thursday the Republican Party will offer to cut the number of Standing Committees from 12 to 9, Sharmazanov said.

The Party has also named the  candidates to head the Standing Committees: Gagik Melikyan – Standing Committee on Financial-Credit and Budgetary Affairs, Standing Committee on Foreign Relations – Armen Ashotyan,Khosrov Harutyunyan – Standing Committee on Economic Affairs, Hrayr Tovmasyan – Standing Committee on State and Legal Affairs, Koryun Nahapetyan – Standing Committee on Defense, National Security and Internal Affairs, Hakob Hakobyan – Standing Committee on Social Affairs.

Show More
Back to top button