Oscars mistake: Moonlight wins best picture after announcement mix-up

Photo: Reuters

Moonlight has won best picture at the Oscars – but only after Faye Dunaway initially announced La La Land had won, the BBC reports.

Dunaway’s co-presenter Warren Beatty said “Emma Stone, La La Land” had been written in the envelope he was given.

The team from La La Land were in the middle of their acceptance speeches when the mistake was discovered.

La La Land won six Oscars including best actress for Emma Stone. Damien Chazelle, director of La La Land, became the youngest filmmaker to win a best director Oscar, at the age of 32.

Stone, who won the coveted best actress prize, said backstage: “I’m so excited for Moonlight. Of course it was an amazing thing to hear La La Land and I would love to win best picture. But we are so excited for Moonlight. I think it is one of the best films of all time.

“Is that the craziest Oscar moment of all time? Cool! It’s going to be history.”

Host Jimmy Kimmel said after the show that Beatty had been given the wrong envelope.

Winners list in full

Best film – Moonlight

Best actress – Emma Stone (La La Land)

Best actor – Casey Affleck (Manchester By The Sea)

Best director – Damien Chazelle (La La Land)

Best supporting actress – Viola Davis (Fences)

Best supporting actor – Mahershala Ali (Moonlight)

Best original screenplay – Kenneth Lonergan (Manchester By The Sea)

Best adapted screenplay – Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney (Moonlight)

Best cinematography – Linus Sandgren (La La Land)

Best original score – Justin Hurwitz (La La Land)

Best original song – Justin Hurwitz, Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (La La Land)

Best sound editing – Sylvain Bellemare (Arrival)

Best foreign language film – Asghar Farhadi (The Salesman)

Best film editing – John Gilbert (Hacksaw Ridge)

Best visual effects – Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon (The Jungle Book)

Best production design – David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds Wasco (La La Land)

Best sound mixing – Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace (Hacksaw Ridge)

Best documentary Feature – Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow (O.J.: Made in America)

Best animated film – Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer (Zootopia)

Best animated short film – Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer (Piper)

Best documentary short subject – Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara (The White Helmets)

Best live action short film – Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy (Sing)

Best make-up – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson (Suicide Squad)

Best costume design – Colleen Atwood (Fantastic Beast and Where To Find Them)

Show More
Back to top button