St. Petersburg to host CSTO and EEU summits on December 26

The summits of the Eurasian Economic Community (EEU) and the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) are scheduled to be held in St. Petersburg on December 16, the Kremlin press service said in a statement.

At the EAEU summit, the leaders of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia will assess the outcome of the first two years the Community’s activities and outline further guidelines. According to the Kremlin press service, “the signing ceremony of the EEU Customs Code agreement will be the main event of the summit.” Besides, the participants will also discuss various aspects of cooperation with key trade and economic partners of the Eurasian Community.

During the CSTO summit, the leaders of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russian and Tajikistan will discuss their cooperation within the organization and important spheres of its activities.

“The participants are expected to exchange views on key issues on the global and regional agenda namely combating terrorism and threats of extremism as well as illegal drugs and weapons trafficking,” the Kremlin statement reads.

Show More
Back to top button