Tigran Sargsyan takes up his duties as Chairman of EEC Board

On February 1, 2016, the updated EEC Board started its work under the leadership of the new Chairman of the Eurasian Economic Commission, Tigran Sargsyan,  according to the website of the Eurasian Economic Commission.

It was approved in last December at the session of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council by the Presidents of Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU).

By the decision of the Supreme Eurasian Economic Council, each country of the Union (Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia) is now represented in the Council by two, instead of three, members of the Board (Ministers).

Therefore, from February 1, the Board consists of 10 members.

However, the Presidents of the EAEU countries have maintained continuity: eight of ten newly appointed EEC Ministers previously held similar positions.

The only new face in the Board, other than the Chairman, is Veronika Nikishina (representative of the Russian Federation) who replaced her predecessor Andrey Slepnev as Minister for Trade.

In accordance with the Decision of the Supreme Council of the Eurasian Economic Union, a new position was introduced to the Commission – Member of the Board – Minister in charge of Domestic Markets, Informatisation, and Information and Communication Technologies.

This post has been taken by Karine Minasyan (Republic of Armenia).

According to the Treaty on the EAEU, the EEC Board’s term of office is four years.

Show More
Back to top button