Genocide 100PoliticsTop

Argentina’s Miseones Province recognizes the Armenian Genocide

The House of Representatives of the province of Misiones, Argentina, approved a laaw that adheres to the National Law 26,199, which establishes every April 24 as the “Day of Action for Tolerance and Respect between Peoples” in commemoration of the genocide against the Armenian people, Prensa Armenia reports.

Law VI-186 was enacted on September 3 in Posadas, and was promulgated on 18 March.

The Law 26,199, enacted on December 13 2006 and promulgated on 11 January 2007, invites provincial governments to “adhere to the provisions of this law,” according to Article 4.

The list of Argentine provinces that adhered to this law are: Buenos Aires, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Córdoba, Corrientes, Jujuy, La Pampa, Neuquén, Río Negro, San Juan, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero and Tierra del Fuego.

Show More
Back to top button