Armenian Parliaments rejects bringing the bill on President’s impeachment to the floor





The Armenian National Assembly voted 4 to 68 with no abstentions to turn down the bill on President Serzh Sargsyan’s impeachment submitted by Nikol Pashinyan. The Armenian National Congress and the Armenian Revolutionary Federation said they would not participate in the voting.

“The measure is unacceptable to us. Therefore, we’ll not participate in the voting,” head of the Armenian National Congress faction Levon Zurabyan said.

He said “the author has submitted a legally illiterate bill without consulting with the faction.”

Alexander Arzumanyan urged all opposition MPs to vote in favor. “This is a proper chance for those, who speak about the necessity of change of power to express their approach. This is the political body where such issues should be discussed,” he said.

Show More
Back to top button