Nagorno-Karabakh will not enter EEU: Belarus Deputy FM

Nagorno-Karabakh will not become part of the Eurasian Economic Union (EEU) after Armenia’s accession, Belarusian First Deputy Foreign Minister Alexander Mikhnevich said while presenting the draft law on the ratification of the treaty on Armenia’s accession to the EEU, BelTA reports.

“We were concerned about the fact that the territories that do not form part of Armenia could join the Customs Union. The Armenian side appeared to be understanding of this requirement, of our request. A memorandum stating that Nagorno-Karabakh is not part of Armenia was attached to the agreement. The Armenian side made an official verbal statement,” Alexander Mikhnevich noted.

He also emphasized that there are no obstacles for Armenia to become de facto member of the Customs Union and the EEU.

Besides, Alexander Mikhnevich pointed out that before the agreement on Armenia’s accession to the EEU was signed, the country had done a lot of work to bring its regulations in line with the ones already adopted by Belarus, Russia, and Kazakhstan.

Show More
Back to top button