Russian parliament to ratify agreement on Armenia’s joining Eurasian Economic Union

The Russian parliament this Wednesday will consider the ratification of the agreement on Armenia’s joining to the Eurasian Economic Union, TASS reports.

In accordance with the agreement, Armenia will become a member of the union after all the ratification procedures in member countries (Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan) are completed, but no earlier than January 1, 2015.

“Armenia has shown the maximum will to go the Eurasian way of development. It is a historic decision for the formation of the EEU,” the head of the Russian Duma committee for CIS affairs, Leonid Slutsky, told TASS.

Solutions were found for all issues, including that the countries are not bordering, he added.

The heads of Russia, Belarus, Kazakhstan and Armenia signed the agreement on the EEU in Minsk in October this year. Armenia in September 2013 declared it planned to join the Customs Union and participate in the EEU formation.

The Eurasian Economic Union is being formed as an interstate Eurasian integration organization based on the Customs Union, which is open for other states to join.

The Customs Union hs been functioning since January 1, 2010.

Show More
Back to top button