Shavarsh Kocharyan: Armenia will cooperate with both EU and EEU

Lena Badeyan
Lusine Vasilyan
Public Radio of Armenia

Armenia will not alienate itself; it will continue to cooperate with both the Eurasian Economic Union and the European Union, Deputy Foreign Minister Shavarsh Kocharyan said at parliamentary hearings on Armenia’s accession to the Eurasian Economic Union.

Kocharyan said all scenarios, including the Karabakh issue, have been taken into consideration when making the decision on joining the EEU.

What can Armenia expect from a Union, two members of which sell arms to a non-member country, which poses threat to a third member state’s security? The Deputy Foreign Minister said it’s not an issue to be discussed in the EEU.

“In the given case we deal with an economic union, while such questions had better be discussed on a different platform. We are a member of the Collective Security Treaty Organization, which is a more proper place to discuss thosee issues,” Shavarsh Kocharyan said.

Armenia will join the EEU only after the parliaments of the four member states – Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus and Armenia – ratify the treaty. The EEU will start functioning from January 1, 2015.

Show More
Back to top button