Armenia to join the Eurasian Economic Union by June 15

Armenia intends to join the Agreement on the Eurasian Economic Union by June 15, Armenia’s President Serzh Sargsyan declared at the extended meeting of the Eurasian Economic council in Astana, RIA Novosti reported.

“I ask to set June 15 of the current year as the deadline for Armenia’s joining the Agreement on the Eurasian Economic Union,” President Sargsyan said.

“It will take two or three days to find mutually beneficial decisions on the remaining issues,” Sargsyan said.

“I confirm that the country is ready to take necessary measures in order to submit the treaty to the parliament shortly and approve it,” he said.

Commenting on Armenia’s intention to sign the Eurasian Economic Union treaty, Sargsyan said Armenia had worked out the roadmap for its joining the union.

“The term has been set by businessmen and the public, who seek to receive answers to the existing questions,” he said.

The Presidents of Russia, Belarus and Kazakhstan signed the Agreement on the Eurasian Economic Union in Astana today. It will come into force on January 1, 2015.

Under the treaty the three countries assume commitments to guarantee free movement of goods, services, capitals and manpower and pursue a well-orchestrated policy in such key economic industries as energy, production industries, agriculture and transport sector.

Show More
Back to top button