Russian State Duma ratifies Crimea reunification treaty

The Russian State Duma, Russia’s lower house of parliament, ratified the Crimea reunification treaty on Thursday.

A total of 443 State Duma deputies supported the ratification and only one voted against, RIA Novosti reports.

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed the treaty with Crimean Prime Minister Sergei Aksyonov and other Crimean leaders on Tuesday following a referendum in which some 96.7 percent of voters backed joining Russia.

The treaty was unanimously approved by the Russian Constitutional Court on Wednesday.

Show More
Back to top button