Academy Awards 2014: ’12 Years a Slave’ wins best picture Oscar

The slavery drama “12 Years a Slave” won the Academy Award for best picture on Sunday, making history as the first movie from a black director to win the film industry’s highest honor in 86 years of the Oscars.

British director Steve McQueen’s unflinching portrayal of pre-Civil War American slavery won two other Oscars, including best supporting actress for newcomer Lupita Nyong’o and best adapted screenplay based on the memoir of Solomon Northup, a free man tricked and sold into slavery in Louisiana.

List Of Winners:

Best picture: 12 Years A Slave

Actor in a leading role: Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club)

Actress in a leading role: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine)

Actor in a supporting role: Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Actress in a supporting role: Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years A Slave)

Directing: Alfonso Cuarón (Gravity)

Best original screenplay: Spike Jonze (Her)

Best adapted screenplay: John Ridley (12 Years A Slave)

Visual effects: Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk and Neil Corbould (Gravity)

Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Music — original score: Steven Price (Gravity)

Music — original song: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez (“Let It Go” fromFrozen)

Costume design: Catherine Martin (The Great Gatsby)

Production design: Catherine Martin — Production Design); Beverley Dunn — Set Decoration (The Great Gatsby)

Makeup and hairstyling: Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews (Dallas Buyers Club)

Short film: Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson (Helium)

Animated feature film: Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee and Peter Del Vecho (Frozen)

Animated short film: Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares (Mr. Hublot)

Documentary feature film: Morgan Neville, Gil Friesen and Caitrin Rogers (20 Feet From Stardom)

Documentary short subject: Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed (The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life)

Foreign language film:The Great Beauty

Film editing: Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger (Gravity)

Sound mixing: Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro (Gravity)

Sound editing: Glenn Freemantle (Gravity)

Show More
Back to top button