Majority of Scottish MPs co-sponsor motion on Remembering the Armenian Genocide

The majority of members of the  Parliament of Scotland have co-sponsored the motion on “Remembering the Armenian Genocide”  introduced by Marco Biagi from the Scottish National Party. It has been signed by 65 MPs.

The motion posted on the website of the Parliament of Scotland reads: “The Parliament notes that 24 April is the anniversary of the government of the Ottoman Empire arresting Armenian intellectuals in 1915, which is generally considered to be the beginning of the forced relocations and expulsions that led to the deaths of hundreds of thousands of Armenians in a systematic genocide over the course of eight years; believes that the Armenian tragedy gives the people of every nation reason to pause and reflect; commemorates all those who have fallen victim to genocide or attempted genocide, and recognises this and all other genocides as tragedies that should never be repeated in any part of the world.”

Show More
Back to top button