Armenia elects President

Armenia is holding presidential elections on February 18. The election is the 6th in the history of independent Armenia.

All 1988 precincts in 41 electoral districts opened at 8 a.m., the voting will continue until 8 p.m.

About 630 observers representing 12 international organizations will monitor the elections. Among others, the elections will be observed by representatives of the OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (OSCE/ODIHR), the International Expert Center for Electoral Systems (ICES), the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS), the CIS Inter-parliamentary Assembly, as well as the diplomatic representations accredited to the Republic of Armenia. About 6,200 observers representing 26 local organizations will also follow the elections.

The total number of voters included in the voter register is 2,505,980. The voter turnout during the previous parliamentary elections made  62,29%.

According to the Electoral Code of the Republic of Armenia, the Central Electoral Commission will sum up the preliminary results of the elections no later than 24 hours after the end of the voting. The final results will be made public on the seventh day following the election day.

Seven candidates are running for President: incumbent President, leader of the Republican Party of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, leader of the Heritage Party Raffi Hovhannisyan, leader of the Liberty Party Hrant Bagratyan, leader of the National Self-Determination Union Paruyr Hayrikyan, ex-Forign Minister of Nagorno Karabakh Arman Melikyan, specialist of epic studies Vardan Sedrakyan and political scientist Andrias Ghukasyan. Leader of the National Accord Party Aram Harutyunyan withdrew from the race 10 days prior o the elections.

Show More
Back to top button