CEC registers eight presidential candidates

Lusine Vasilyan

Eight candidates will run for President in the elections of February 18. The Central Electoral Commission convened an extraordinary sitting today to discuss the issue of registration of candidates. The CEC registered eight of the 15 nominated candidates.

One of the candidates – Robert Aharonyan – withdrew from the race and asked not to consider his application.

The CEC unanimously voted to reject the registration of Taron Abrahamyan, Narine Mkrtchyan, Ruben Ayvazyan, Mher Hayrapetyan, Pavlik Sargsyan and Robert Simonyan, who failed to submit all necessary documents.

The CEC registered the following candidates: incumbent President Serzh Sargsyan, leader of the National Self-Determination Union Paruyr Hayrikyan, President of the Heritage Party Raffi Hovhannisyan, President of the Liberty Party, MP Hrant Bagratyan, President of the National Accord Party Aram Harutyunyan, ex-Foreign Minister of Nagorno Karabakh Arman Melikyan, specialist in epic studies Vardan Sedrakyan and political scientist Andrias Ghukasyan.

Show More
Back to top button