Fifteen candidates to run for President in Armenia

Nvard Davtyan

The registration of candidates is over: 15 candidates will run for President in Armenia. Incumbent President Serzh Sargsyan has been nominated by the Republican Party of Armenia. The Liberty Party has suggested Hrant Bagratyan‘s candidacy.

Other candidates include: leader of the Heritage Party Raffi Hovhannisyan, leader of the National Self-Determination Party Paruyr Hayrikyan, leader of the National Accord Party Aram Harutyunyan, ex-Foreign Minister of Nagorno Karabakh Arman Melikyan, member of Prosperous Armenia Party Ruben Ayvazyan, who is an advocate at the European Court of Human Rights.

Taron Abrahamyan is the President of the Armenian Combat Karate Kobudo National Federation. Ruben Aharonyan, who headed the Progressive Socialist Party of Armenia, is currently unemployed. He supports the creation of a second USSR. Andrias Ghukasyan is the President of the Board of “Radio hay” LLC.

Unemployed physicist Mher Hayrapetyan, pensioner Pavlik Sargsyan, specialist in Armenian epic studies Vardan Sedrakyan and President of “Kashatagh” NGO Robert Simonyan will also run for President. Narine Mkrtchyan will be the first and only female candidate for presidency. She’s the President of the Yerevan Press Club and a lecturer at the State Pedagogical University after Khachatur Abovyan.

The presidential elections will take place on February 18, 2013. The election campaign will kick off on January 21 and will continue through February 16.

Show More
Back to top button