39 countries to take part in Eurovision 2013

Thirty-nine public broadcasters have confirmed their participation in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest, to take place in Malmö, Sweden, on the 14th, 16th and 18th of May, official website of the Eurovision Song Contest informs.

“Despite the challenging economic situation in Europe a healthy number of public broadcasters are committed to the long-standing tradition that the contest has become,” says Jon Ola Sand, the Executive Supervisor of the contest at the EBU.

Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT), Portugal (RTP), Turkey (TRT) and Slovakia (STV) have decided not to take part. Armenia (AMPTV) has re-joined the contest after a one-year break.

The following 39 broadcasters have signed up: Albania (RTSH), Austria (ORF), Armenia (AMPTV), Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV), Belarus (BTRC), Belgium (RTBF), Bulgaria (BNT), Croatia (HRT), Cyprus (CyBC), Denmark (DR), Estonia (ERR), Finland (YLE), France (France3), Georgia (GPB), Germany (NDR), Greece (ERT), Hungary (MTV), Iceland (RÚV), Ireland (RTÉ), Israel (IBA), Italy (RAI), Latvia (LTV), Lithuania (LRT), FYR Macedonia (MKRTV), Malta (PBS), Moldova (TRM), Montenegro (RTCG), the Netherlands (TROS), Norway (NRK), Romania (TVR), Russia (C1R), San Marino (SMTV), Serbia (RTS), Slovenia (RTVSLO), Spain (TVE), Sweden (SVT), Switzerland (SRG SSR), Ukraine (NTU) and the United Kingdom (BBC).

“We regret the withdrawal of Bosnia & Herzegovina, Portugal and Slovakia, which have all cited economic reasons,” Sand added.

Turkish broadcaster TRT has decided to withdraw because of amendments to the rules made in recent years. Sand: “We are surprised by this decision. The changes were made in 2009 and were since never formally objected by TRT. We are eager to pursue dialogue with the Turkish broadcaster to seek a viable solution.”

The 58th Eurovision Song Contest will take place on 14th, 16th and 18th of May 2013 in the Swedish city of Malmö, after Loreen won the 2012 contest with the song Euphoria.

Show More
Back to top button